Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry was established in the year 2001 and has been devoted to teaching and advanced research in Chemistry. The department has distinguished itself as a Centre for innovative and pioneering teaching and research in different fields of Chemistry. It was elevated to the status of VTU Research Centre in 2011 in recognition of its achievements in various fields and received sponsored projects from VTU Research Grant and VGST. The major research efforts are focused on areas such as catalysis, reaction kinetics, corrosion, polymers, nanomaterials, and electrochemistry. To ignite the quest for chemistry and its versatile applications in the young minds of future engineers the department organizes various activities such as guest lectures, quiz, workshops, conferences, and seminars. To kindle the interest and encourage the prospective researchers in the fields of material science the department successfully organized two days national seminar on “Recent Advances in Material Science” – 2011- and two-days National Conference on “Frontiers and Challenges in Chemistry” - 2013. Also, the department of Chemistry organizes an International Conference on Innovations and Challenges in Science and Technology every year. The faculty members in the department are actively betrothed to Teaching as well as in Research.

  • To provide foundation knowledge in Frontiers of Chemistry with Sustainability and Environmental emphasis.

  • M1: To disseminate knowledge of Chemistry in the area of Electrochemistry, Corrosion Science, Engineering Materials, Water Technology, Instrumentation and Green & Sustainable Chemistry.

  • M2: To understanding the concepts of alternative energy sources.

  • M3: To afford concepts of production and utilization of few Polymers and Nanomaterials.

  • To obtain consistent and excellent results in academics.

  • To encourage students to be entrepreneurs through mentoring activity.

  • To encourage the faculty members to update their knowledge and skills by way of Publishing, Participating/Organizing Conferences and Workshops.

  • To work towards establishing Nanomaterials Energy Research Centre.

  • To achieve the distinction of being the most sought-after department of chemistry in the vicinity.

  • To foster inter departmental collaboration and synergize the efforts towards multi-disciplinary research and development.

  • To establish a strong, connect with institutions, universities, and industries of international repute.

  • To contribute in the development of innovative ideas towards solving the challenges faced by society.

  • Virtual classrooms and several tutorial rooms with multimedia projectors.

  • Departmental library

  • Internet Facility

  • Biodiesel plant

  • Centre for Training on Biodiesel Production.

Course code Course
18MAT11/21 Advanced Calculus and Numerical Methods
18CHE12/22 Engineering Chemistry
18CPS13/23 C Programming for Problem Solving
18ELN14/24 Basic Electronic
18ME15/25 Elements of Mechanical Engineering
18CHEL16/26 Engineering Chemistry Laboratory
18CPL17/27 C Programming Laboratory
18EGH18/28 Technical English I and II
  • Pass in PUC/10+2 Examination with Physics and Mathematics as compulsory subjects along with one of the chemistry/Computer science/ Electronics/Technical vocational subjects and obtained at least 45% marks (40% in case of candidate belonging to SC/ST category) in the above subjects taken together of any Board recognized by the respective State Governments / Union Territories or any other qualification recognized as equivalent there to.

  • The CET / COMEDK Exams (entrance exam) get over; normally the aspiring students would be able to assess their performance and seat allotment possibilities to the college of their preference. Therefore, after CET / COMEDK exams, there would be acceleration in the admission process under Management Quota.

  • To have assured seat under Management Quota, it is necessary to secure your seat early by complying with the terms and conditions.



Class teacher

E-mail ID

Phone number




 Ms. K Krishnaveni



 Ms. N. V. Sushma



 Mr. Madhusudhan Y




 Mr. Arun Kumar K. H.






 Mr. Arun Kumar K. H.




 Ms. N. V. Sushma



 Ms. Manjula B. S. @



 Ms. K. Krishnaveni